New York State Archives Fee Schedule for Copies of Records
Effective October 1, 2008
|Copy Medium and Format||Source Document||Copy Fee|
|8.5" x 11", 8.5" x 14"||(from paper documents or microfilm)||$.25 per copy|
|8.5" x 11", 8.5" x 14"||(self-service from microforms)||$.10 per copy|
|11" x 17"||(from oversize documents)||$1.00 per copy|
|11" x 17"||(self-service from microforms)||$.25 per copy|
|36" x variable length||(from oversize documents)||$1.00 per foot|
|Microfilm (diazo)||(from existing film only)||$25.00 per roll|
|Microfiche (diazo)||(from existing fiche only)||$2.00 per fiche|
|Photograph||(various formats available)||Prices vary; consult staff|
|Videotape||(VHS)||Prices vary; consult staff|
|Audiotape||(various formats available)||Prices vary; consult staff|
|Certification of Copies||$10.00 per certification|
The Archives provides copies of images that are part of the growing Digital Collections for $1.00 per image. (These are typically scanned in TIFF format at 350 dpi to CD.) View the Digital Collections at: http://www.archives.nysed.gov/d/. For scans of original records (not among the Digital Collections), or requests that require re-scanning to a different size or at a higher resolution, the cost is $10.00 per scan.
Electronic records and documentation
Fees for copies of electronic records vary, because they are based on cost of storage medium (tape or diskette) plus any additional cost of data extraction or other special programming. State Archives-produced user's guides for electronic records are available free of charge. Copies of agency-produced documentation will be supplied at the standard fees for photocopies, listed above, or at the cost of reproduction.
This general fee schedule applies to copy orders received from State government agencies and offices (including the legislative and judicial branches), local governments, and the general public. A reduced fee is charged to State agencies or offices for photocopies of records they have transferred to the official custody of the State Archives.
No self-service photocopying is available except for photocopies made from microforms (microfilm, microfiche, or aperture cards).
Pre-payment is required for all copy orders, except for orders by State government agencies and offices. (Local governments may submit purchase orders.) Checks and money orders should be made payable to "New York State Archives." (Do not send cash.) Minimum mail or phone order charge is $1.00. Customers who frequently order copies may set up a copying account with the New York State Archives. Contact the Archives for further information.
Copy orders are filled as soon as possible. Large orders may be subject to delay because of other demands on staff and equipment time.
The State Archives will not make copies of records containing information restricted by law, except for legally-authorized purposes.
The State Archives will not make photocopies (electrostatic) of fragile original documents, when copying may damage the documents.
Researchers may photograph documents with their own cameras, subject to State Archives restrictions on handling fragile materials. A copy stand is available for researcher use.
Copies will be sent by inter-office, inter-agency, or first-class mail unless the customer makes other arrangements. Customers may request shipment of copies by express, at customer expense. Copies may be picked up at the State Archives. Facsimile (FAX) service is not available.
Inquiries about copying fees and requests for copies should be directed to:
New York State Archives
Bureau of Archival Services
Cultural Education Center Room 11A36
Albany, NY 12230
Phone: (518) 474-8955
Fax: (518) 473-9985