You are here

Local Government Schedule: LGS-1

This Retention and Disposition Schedule for New York Local Government Records (LGS-1) is a single, comprehensive retention schedule covering records of all types of local governments. It consolidates and revises the CO-2, ED-1, MI-1, and MU-1 Schedules

Effective Date:

This schedule is in effect as of August 1, 2020. Local governments must adopt LGS-1 prior to utilizing it, even if they adopted and have been using the CO-2, MU-1, MI-1, or ED-1 Schedules. Governing boards of local governments will have a five-month period – between August 1st, 2020 and January 1st, 2021 (when the four existing schedules expire) – to adopt the LGS-1 by resolution (a model resolution is available).

Intended Users:

All New York State local governments including cities, towns, villages, fire districts, counties, school districts, Boards of Cooperative Educational Services (BOCES), teacher resource and computer training centers, county vocational education and extension boards, and miscellaneous local governments.

Available Formats:

The State Archives provides access to this schedule in a number of formats. Each format cross references the unique schedule item numbers of the CO-2, MU-1, MI-1, or ED-1 Schedules. In addition to this web resource, local governments can access the schedule as a:
  • Printable PDF (411 pages)
  • Print copy (available on request).  Contact us at
  • MS Excel worksheets available September, 2020
  • MS Access database available September, 2020
Please note that the PDF and print formats are complete copies of the LGS-1 document on file with the NYS Department of State. The MS Access and Excel versions do not contain the introduction, index, nor any section or sub-section notes; however, they provide all series and subseries information, including notes. 

Issued by:

The University of the State of New York
New York State Archives